Bringing the Lobster Home

I’ve lost Julia Child twice this year. I finally found her hiding behind the couch. I made sure to pack her with me to Maine. I haven’t found Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom yet but that’s okay. I’ll get back to him. I never thought I’d have the habit of losing books in the house. It feels like an act of heresy or that I’m just a bad reader, one that is not fully committed or monogamous with a novel. I’m happy that I’ve lost My Life in France for some periods though. I return to it slowly now. It’s too wonderful to leave. Perhaps this is why I flung it behind the couch in a fit of dazed ecstasy. With questions like “I knew that drowning my sorrows in wine and bouillabaisse would only make things worse. What to do?” how could I not be charmed?

Image

Paella is a summer tradition for my family. My mom would always host an elaborate birthday party for my dad in August. We set up a long white picnic table and eat outside, overlooking the bay. This year the tide was out so my nephew and a few boys walked across the mudflats to collect crabs and shells. For the thirty years we’ve done this, it’s never rained on the day. Tradition is a powerful thing.

Image

Image

I’m not sure where my mother got this paella recipe. The cards are over 20 years old. Although it’s not listed in the ingredients above, I add 1/2 a pound of scallops with the shrimp and 4 lobsters, boiled in bay water or beer and then picked over to put in the paella during the final moments. This year I saved some of the lobster heads, cleaned them up and propped them in the paella pan.

Image

Me, who could pluck, flame, empty, and cut up a whole chicken in twelve minutes flat!…Me, the Supreme Mistress of mayonnaise, hollandaise, cassoulets, choucroutes, blanquettes de veau….me, alas! 

Image

Me who brings the lobster home.

About Hark, Zeke

Hark, Zeke is a Brooklyn based blog devoted to cooking, appeasing the inner foodie and howling the good howl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

