Faster than Take Out

My desk is a bit of a wreck right now. There are old calendars, stacks of cd’s, two japanese fans and this morning’s coffee mug all competing for precious real estate. I pile books on top of books. I need more shelves. I have the terrible habit of starting as many new novels as fresh wine glasses I lose during parties. I keep a clean kitchen though. I hang my apron up with a deep sense of satisfaction when I leave the room.

Tonight I baked a salmon fillet with mustard, fresh bread crumbs and capers. It was delicious with a glass of white wine. It’s perfect for a midweek meal because it’s fast and simple to clean up. I even roasted my brussel sprouts in the same pan as the fish.

Baked Salmon with Dijon Mustard & Capers

Ingredients

  • 1 pound salmon fillet
  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbs dijon mustard
  • 1 lemon
  • 1 tsp capers
  • 1 slice of bread for fresh bread crumbs

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400
  2. Brush salmon fillet with olive oil, cracked pepper and salt. Position thinly sliced garlic inside fish.
  3. Brush salmon with mustard and squeeze the juice of half a lemon on top of the fish.
  4. Cover with fresh bread crumbs and capers.
  5. Bake for 12 minutes.

Mr. Wonton, eat your heart out.

About Hark, Zeke

Hark, Zeke is a Brooklyn based blog devoted to cooking, appeasing the inner foodie and howling the good howl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

