Crisp, chilled whites till then

Every Fall I pack away my spring and summer dresses in a tan suitcase and stuff it in the back of my closet. I don’t look at it until the warmer weather comes. This weekend I’ll pop the metal clasp and replace the dresses with sweaters. Now the magnolia trees bloom in the park, turtles rest on rocks and the cherry blossom seeds grow round and fat. I sit on the stoop with my pets and watch people pass by with cool bare shoulders. Another spring. Life is good.

Image

With the changing season comes changing meals. Soon I won’t crave the heavy stews and chicken roasts. I won’t nest in the kitchen, planning out meals that take hours to simmer. I’ll toss together more salads and cold meals. I’ll cook early or late in the night so I don’t heat up the house. I won’t drink a glass of red wine until late September. I’ll have crisp, chilled whites till then.

Last night I made pork chops with brusselĀ sprouts and a tossed mixed green salad with cherry tomatoes and avocado. Pork chops survive warmer weather because they’re fast to cook. Recently I’ve been experimenting with my pork chops. I like them with butter, shallots, lemon zest, thyme and heavy cream (see photo & recipe below). The only thing I have to be careful about is adding too much lemon. The cream and lemon should be sweet together. For a different recipe, I love drizzling and criss crossing balsamic glaze over pork chops. Balsamic glaze is an understated but great pantry staple. Anyway, I digress. Mmm, cream.

Image

Pork Chops with Lemon, Thyme and Cream

Ingredients

  • 3-4 Pork Chops, Bone in
  • 1 Lemon
  • 3-4 sprigs of fresh thyme
  • 2 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1/2 small shallot, diced
  • 2 teaspoons butter
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  • salt, pepper

Directions

  1. In a large pan, melt butter and oil over a medium heat. Once butter is melted, add garlic, thyme & shallots.
  2. Salt & pepper pork chops and place in pan.
  3. Grate some fresh lemon zest over pork chops (less than a tablespoon all together).
  4. Flip over the chops and squeeze lemon juice on top. Salt and pepper.
  5. Pour heavy cream over pork chops. Flip again.
  6. Cover pan and cook for 9 minutes or so, depending on how well done you like it.
  7. When serving on plates, be sure to spoon over the pan’s juices!
About Hark, Zeke

Hark, Zeke is a Brooklyn based blog devoted to cooking, appeasing the inner foodie and howling the good howl.
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crisp, chilled whites till then

  1. mindy says:

    loving your posts dear!! making me hungry and feel like putting on a summer frock.

Leave a Reply

