My Little Entle

I have foggy memories of my mother coming home from the dentist after she got her wisdom teeth pulled. We were in Maine and I was on the lawn, wondering why our neighbors thought she was odd to get them pulled so late in life. As of yesterday, my top two wisdom teeth are gone. My only complaint is that I’m hungry all the time. Last night I practiced some “Mindful Eating” and slowly slurped down sashimi on the couch. For dessert, I ate two giant bowls of frozen yogurt. Luckily, I haven’t swelled, bruised or reached for my painkillers much. In other words, I’m a badass bitch.

Image

However, having two massive gaps in my mouth poses a real problem in the kitchen. What can I actually eat? With the aid of the Barefoot Contessa, I’m making a roasted tomato soup. What I love about this recipe is that she roasts her tomatoes at 400 degrees before adding them to her stock with onions, garlic, canned tomatoes and basil. Roasting the tomatoes makes this soup more like a meal than first course. It’s also deeply satisfying to make. The colors are rich and exuberant.

Like all soups, this soup benefits from a homemade chicken stock. You want to give your soup good legs to stand upon. Packaged stocks are cash cows and there’s a dizzying array of them at the grocery store. If you don’t have any homemade stock on hand, I usually go with a low-sodium, organic variety. There’s no reason to get anything other than low sodium. You can always adjust it later for taste.

Roasted-Tomato Basil Soup

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 3 Pounds Ripe Plum Tomatoes, cut in hafl
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon sea salt
  • 2 Tablespoons cracked pepper
  • 2 cups chopped onions
  • 6 garlic cloves
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 28 ounces canned plum italian tomatoes
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme
  • 4 cups fresh basil leaves
  • 1 quart homemade chicken stock

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Toss together tomatoes, olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 45 minutes.
  3. In a good sized pot, saute onions with garlic, splash of olive oil and butter. Add the canned tomatoes, basil, thyme and chicken stock. Add the roasted tomatoes, with juice.
  4. Bring to a boil and then simmer uncovered for 40 minutes.
  5. Puree and serve with crostini.

Like most soups, this is even better the next day. I’ll be enjoying another bowl while I watch the Entlebucher Mountain Dog make his debut at the Westminster Dog Show tomorrow night. Zeke, thought to be a mysterious mutt, is actually an entlebucher himself. I call him my little entle before bed.

About Hark, Zeke

Hark, Zeke is a Brooklyn based blog devoted to cooking, appeasing the inner foodie and howling the good howl.
This entry was posted in recipe and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Little Entle

  1. Make sure to keep ice on it just in case, even if it doesn’t hurt. Really stops bruising and swelling and that horrible yellow look later on.

    And I really want to try this tomato soup! I am trying to find sexy salad recipes lately, going on a bit of a salad days kick. Found a bunch but they all seem to be side salads and not real main courses, hmph.

  2. Hark, Zeke says:

    I’ve been lucky so far…drinking lots of cold smoothies I blend up.

    I want some sexy salad recipes! I love salads for meals, especially when they have shrimp and mix sweet and salty. Let me know what you come across!

    I know you cook amazing things for Valentine’s Day, do you have anything planned?

  3. kathy hayes says:

    how did you know I needed a good tomato soup recipe?? thanks!

Leave a Reply

