Alas, I’m Not A Hunter Yet

As a native New Yorker, I probably shouldn’t admit that I only like the Super Bowl for its trimmings: the beer, chili and spurts of spectator joy. Perhaps if I better understood football and didn’t zone out when announcers scribbled pen marks all over the screen, I would actually enjoy the game. My blank face usually warrants someone to nudge me and say, “you know there’s real strategy here. It’s like war.” War with commercials. Pass the beer, compadre.

Image

So it should come to no surprise that I missed the kick off while I was in the kitchen. I spent most of the afternoon searching the internet for a good chili. A friend suggested a venison and bourbon based chili (!) but alas, I’m not a hunter yet.

Image

I finally decided upon Martha Stewart’s Turkey Chili (which I tinkered with a bit, I used ground turkey breast instead). I served it with honey and sage cornbread.

Image

The cornbread balanced the chili really well. Although Bon Appétit‘s recipe (via Epicurious) called for fresh sage, I only had dried in the house. I can see how fresh sage would be beautifully arranged against a bright yellow bread though. Image

Martha Stewart’s Turkey Chili (Zeke’s Variation) 

Serves 6-8

Ingredients

2 tsps. vegetable oil

2 pounds ground lean turkey

1 large white onion, diced

2 garlic cloves, diced

2 tsp. ground cumin

2 tsps. dried oregano

1 dry chili

3 Tbs. chili powder

1 bottle (12 ounces) amber lager beer (this is essential!)

1 can (28 ounces) organic whole peeled tomatoes, puréed

2 can (15.5 ounces) pinto beans, rinsed and drained

1 cup water

Directions

1. In a cast iron pot, sauté ground turkey in oil with pepper and salt. When cooked, remove from pot.

2. Saute diced onions until clear and soft. Add garlic, cumin, oregano and chili powder to coat. Salt and pepper. Add beer and constantly scrape the pot with a wooden spoon.

3. Add whole dried chili, tomatoes, water, turkey and beans.

4. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to medium-low. Cook with the lid almost on for 45-60 minutes, until the chili is thick and rich.

Honey & Sage Cornbread 

Serves 8-10

Ingredients

1 cup whole grain cornmeal

1 cup unbleached flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons dried sage

1 cup whole milk

1/2 cup honey

1 large egg

1 melted cup of butter

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 400.

2. Combine cornmeal, flour, baking powder, salt and sage.

3. Whisk milk, honey, egg and butter together. Slowly add cornmeal mixture in.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Serve warm.

Mmm. Sweet victory.

About Hark, Zeke

Hark, Zeke is a Brooklyn based blog devoted to cooking, appeasing the inner foodie and howling the good howl.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alas, I’m Not A Hunter Yet

  1. Marlene Raza says:

    You’re too cute

  2. Petey says:

    I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

