Camping Indoors like it’s 1874

Did Ulysses S. Grant just turn over in his grave? Because Washington’s temperature hit 102. We last tied that temperature in 1874! Where my white flags at?

Goodness gracious, the papers!

Brooklyn was equally sweltering so I decided to camp indoors. I thought of the A/C as a humming-bird swooping in and out of the room. I only left the camp once (hid behind produce, avoided bears but grabbed beers and then ran for cool shelter under my canopy bed). When I got home, I made a light but satisfying lunch. When it’s that hot, the only thing to eat is salad, bruschetta & caprese. Maybe some blackberries too.

 Baby Arugula Salad with tuna, artichoke hearts, cherry tomatoes & olives

Pantry Salad meets Indoor Camping

Ingredients

  • 3 large handfuls of baby arugula
  • 1 drained jar artichoke hearts
  • 1 drained albacore tuna in water
  • 7-8  cherry tomatoes, sliced in half-length wise
  • handful of pitted olives, sliced in half
  • For Dressing: 1/4 cup olive oil, red wine vinegar & 1 tablespoon Dijon mustard.
Directions (this actually seems silly to write).
  1. Combine all ingredients & dress with whisked vinaigrette. Do not eat the bowl. 
About Hark, Zeke

Hark, Zeke is a Brooklyn based blog devoted to cooking, appeasing the inner foodie and howling the good howl.
This entry was posted in recipe, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Camping Indoors like it’s 1874

  1. Joanne A. says:

    Hi Jeanette!
    Looong time no speak. I stumbled across your blog when looking for dinner recipes.
    Your food looks amazing, thank you for sharing your recipes. Your mother’s cooking was very delicious, and I am glad that you are continuing the tradition of making great food. I hope you and Lennart are well.
    I’m very happy for you and of all the achievements you have accomplished. 🙂
    All the best,
    Joanne

    • Hark, Zeke says:

      Hey Joanne!

      I’m ashamed to say I’m just getting this very sweet message. I’ve just gotten back on wordpress in hopes to raise this blog from the ground again. How have you been? What are you up to? Thanks again for this.

      Jeanette

Leave a Reply

